Make Monday – Chickpea and Spinach Curry

20140415-025906.jpg

This photo is beyond terrible and for that, I apologise. I also had some lemon on stand by which made it that much better and I don’t even like lemons in my cooking.
Last week I was strapped for cash to the point where I nearly caved in and bought Mee Goreng. I think I had about $8 to my name and several meals to survive. If there is one thing that bothers me about budget meals they always require little bits and pieces but this is an absolute winner and I’m sure if I served it to a crowd it would be a crowd please. Bonus points coz it freezes well.

In my 5 years of flatting I have eaten countless amounts of home made tomato sauce with pasta and tins of tomatoes are so cheap! Usually you can get them for 99c at Chaffers New World or the lovely Biotalia ones at Moore Wilsons bulk part for 96c.

It feels insulting to call this a curry but to be fair it is nicely spiced with curry powder so I’m not sure where it stands on the lines of being culinary/politically correct. It is incredibly delicious and clears the ol’ senses.

It goes best with rice but if you’re feeling mash on these cold days be my guest. You could also add a can of coconut cream right before serving, chop some chorizo to put in with the chickpeas or use it as a bed for roast chicken breasts. All up, this cost me $5.40 (minus curry powder, frozen spinach and garlic) FYI – 99c per can of chick peas and canned tomatoes, can’t remember the price of the onion and a small bag of Uncle Ben’s short grain brown rice was $1.29.

Ingredients
1 medium onion (diced)
3 cloves garlic finely chopped
2 cans of chickpeas
2 cans of diced tomatoes
1 dessert spoon of curry powder
Frozen spinach

Put your pan on heat and dice your onion and garlic. Sauté you onion and garlic until borderline translucent , turn down the heat and then add in your curry powder. Fry your ingredients for about two minutes then add your chickpeas with a bit of water to deglaze your pan. Coat your chickpeas in the mix and then add your tomatoes. Let them get up to heat then then turn it down till it simmers. If you’re using fresh spinach add it (without the stems) at the last minute but I recommend cooking frozen spinach to reduce the water and simmering time. Once curry is cooked then serve with rice and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

