Date day

On Thursday JP surprised me by taking Friday off work. Our date nights are usually a couple of drinks after work and dinner. Maybe a movie. Then bed. And some NSFW action.

Since I live so central we usually end up just going somewhere in town but since we were in Newtown we ended up going to The Ramen Shop which I had heard several good things about.
.

2015/01/img_4259.jpg
We had pork belly buns and fried chicken miso ramen which sounded amazing (I like miso and I LOVE fried chicken!) unfortunately, the hype my taste buds built up didn’t live up to it and we were both disappointed in our experience. I thought it was very fairly priced but at $44 all up it wasn’t cheap. Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing…. I don’t know…but it was beautifully presented and the service was good.

It was okay, we were fed and excited to go on a wee adventure! I have been DYING to go to the zoo for ages. The last time I went I was….16-17. I took advantage of the Wellington advent calendar just before Christmas and snagged a 2 for 1 pass which made the date cheaper. Excuse my horrible iPhone photos. I’m yet to replace my fancy camera.

2015/01/img_4260.jpg
Tigers are one of my fave. This dude ended up hiding not long after.

2015/01/img_4277.jpg
Definitely my fave photo of the day! The lionesses were hiding (it was pretty hot) so I was happy to see this guy having a snooze.

2015/01/img_4274.jpg
This handsome guy came out a little while later. It was super dark in the cave so I had to give it a filter.

2015/01/img_4301.jpg
Why hello to you too, sun bear

2015/01/img_4288.jpg
The meerkats were so super cute!

2015/01/img_4293.jpg
Literally 0 cares for all of y’all

All in all the trip was pretty good. It was school holidays so I sort of worried about lots of kids being around. A lot of the animals weren’t out presumably because of the dry heat which was a bummer (I was super excited about the serval and carcaral) It was a lot quicker getting around than I remember but all up it was a pretty good way to spend an afternoon!

Leave a Reply

