Weekly Love

img_6332I admit – I’ve been a bad. I’ve been doing so poorly at losing weight that I’ve been embarrassed to come back and share the same results. After having a tough time (depression is in check it’s just other little things) I made time to talk to Michelle. Mickey would’ve been featured more in my earlier posts but since JP came along and is both getting busy our healing sleep overs were put on hold. My girl is in China teaching English right now and we talked for at least 2.5 hours on Tuesday. I laughed so hard my jaw hurt and then afterwards Shen promised to email a motivating email. If anyone knows how to reach me it’s her. She is the bringer of truths. We were supposed incredibly connected when we both went through heartbreak and when Mickey lost her dad. We didn’t let all of the terrible things happening stall our progress in life. We worked out religiously, ate good and worked on our mental state. We essentially fought ferociously for ourselves to be in a good space. We’ve both been through some very rough times and stints with chronic depression being one of them so making sure we were in a good space doing all we could was worth it. If one thing depression has taught me is that you can’t ignore yourself or your feelings and relying on all the things that make you better is the fight to keep better. Taking medication for it is just one part of the process. I’ll write about it more later in the week.

I’ve been working on not drinking so much and Wednesdays and ¬†Fridays are really hard for me. I’m not anti drinking but I’m anti drinking so much that it ruins your weekend and your weight. I made a date with Aimee to eat nachos and watch tv which was so nice. We live together but we don’t spend time together like we did when we hung out pre living together. Just like my FaceTime with Mickey, it felt so healing. It’s a reminder to myself that being selective with your friends is never a bad thing. Side bar – I saw a girl I was once friends with on the street and terminating that friendship was a reminder that sometimes you have to do the tough thing and ditch. As rough as it may sound sometimes you have to for your own well being. In the morning, we cleaned, got our laundry out and then took Loki to the dog beach.

Little things: watching the baby ducks at the gardens; getting Korean skin care from JPs sister; The Mindy Project; 5 or so weeks till we go on holiday; getting my fringe trimmed; sleeping in (I’m usually up at 6am so 9 was a nice change); chicken curry from Zhou’s Kitchen; My Favourite Murder; This American Life; seeing our little garden grow!; watching the fireworks hand in hand with JP at the New World car park post buying snacks #romance; the bits of the Steve Aoki documentary I was able to sit down for; Loki not being terrified at the fireworks (so brave); this moment where I am sitting in my lounge with the sporadic rain post coffee; and JPs mum who is the sweetest angel.

 

Leave a Reply

