Adventures in Weightloss

img_6540

Me in all my chubby glory

Finally back from holiday, fatter and more fabulous than ever. Just kidding, I got really sick on Boxing Day and lived on a fairly solid diet of bread and meat. And beer. Tis the season, amirite? I have been working on my self control like you would not believe. Aside from beers, pizza and curly fries last night I have been eating healthy for a full 3 days. I had scheduled a gym sesh with one of my old work mates who literally went from my size to having the best figure last year but, I’m feeling a bit poorly. This will be the last time I eat at maki mono!

My clothes were already feeling quite tight but over a period of nine days I managed to really push the boundaries. When I got home on Monday, Aimee said to me ‘Oh my GOD Anna your dress has split at the bum!’ I was MORTIFIED. Then I back tracked to what I had consumed and it all made perfect sense. Getting back into a routine has not been easy. We didn’t do our grocery shop until the Friday so for three days dinner consisted of KFC, Indian curry and Chinese curry. Then, on Friday some exercise tights arrived and JP sheepishly said ‘Uh, I think you need to go up a size…’ Yikes.

Self control has definitely not come easy. It requires you to really stop. For example, my co-worker who likes eating as much as I do, bought in a pecan pie for us all. I put aside a piece because I had already eaten a pastry for breakfast but the next day at lunch I had to give the man I call chocolate bear (Scrubs, anyone?) the piece of pecan pie I was looking forward to! Is it somewhat ironic that chocolate bear’s wife is a psychiatrist who looks after people battling eating disorders? Anyway, from that day on to today I have been eating good. Peanut butter toast, salad, fruit and lots of veges for dinner with lean meat. JP told me I looked skinny yesterday but unfortunately it takes time.

What has worked for me: having a plan! I know it’s not realistic to make myself big fancy breakfasts on a week day. I use a good quality peanut butter and grainy toast which gets me till about 11. I tried porridge the other day and despite being a decent sized portion, it did nothing for me. I also stopped gorging. I made vege burritos the other night and they were so, so good. I could’ve eaten another one but I relaxed and didn’t.

What I’ll do next week: start getting back into exercising again. I’ve walked to work all week aside from today. I would love to get up early and go but there’s no buses and I don’t want to get murdered.

Leave a Reply

